My Weekly Moose!!

Wow two post in one day, I am on a roll!! Did you notice the new moose picture at the top??? Those were my weekly moose!! For those of you that don’t know, my job is selling down hole pump parts for the oil field, I deliver parts over the Big Horn Mountains once a week. Yes even in the snow and on the icy roads. One of the things that makes my job so awesome is the beautiful scenery and wildlife that I get to see. Some days are uneventful and others leave me speechless.

 There was one time this last winter that due to the roads being very slick, I was way latter getting back than I really wanted to be. As I headed up the mountain on my way home, dark was coming on fast, when I got up on top it also started snowing. Real fun!! as the roads were already slick and with 40 miles of mountain left I knew I was in for a long ride. I thought I really wish I was not alone it is sooooooo quiet!!  So what do I do I roll my window down and listen to nothing, just the calm quiet of a mountain!! It was absolutely beautiful and I knew right there I was not alone!! Have you ever listened to quiet?? Its awesome!!  Yes God was with me and got me home safe that night. He travels with me all the time!!!

So I just wanted to share a few pictures of my travels last Thursday. I love moose, okay I am moose crazy, so I always hope I get to see moose on my trip. Even better when they are close enough for a picture!!  Four moose right next to the road!! It does not get much better than this…..

100_38682

100_3875

The fog was very heavy in some spots on the mountain……

100_3880

…but the sun was fast winning its fight for the day.

On my return trip I am just cruising along, bopping along to my sirus radio, and I am “What was that?”. So I slow down, find a place to turn around and back I go. Okay, stop, watch, wait and what do I see but a baby fox. Okay camera ready, and down he goes and drops out of sight, okay wait, focus, here he comes, darn another car goes by and out of sight he goes again. Oh well nice day, no snow to drive back on… wait and wait and wait…. and it paid off well as three little baby foxes came up the ditch bank to play!!

100_3896

Okay I have watched you little guys long enough, it will be dark when I get home if I stay and watch you as long as I would like to.

 Okay back on the road, back up to speed, and wait!! brakes, pull over there are horses and they have babies!!! I am really not sure, but I believe these may be wild horses. There is an area close to here that has wild horses but do not know if this is connected to that. I really can’t see domestic horses way out in this part of the country as it is very desolate and a long ways for someone to come feed them, as there is not a lot of grass for them to eat.

100_3898

I tried for ten minutes trying to see if the other baby would stand up, but guess he was down for his nap and there was no getting him up.

100_3903

mom and baby

This last picture was taken on the weekend of state bowling tournament. Hubby and I arrived early so we went for a drive. We came across this old school house. Behind it was a 3 seater out house.. don’t see many of those around.

100_3841

Hope you enjoyed the pictures!!!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sassybug on May 5, 2009 at 6:57 PM

    Spring is time for Baby Animals Right?

    We saw a 3-Seater at the museum in Gunnison, we had a great laugh over that one.

    Reply

  2. Posted by learningtolean on May 5, 2009 at 9:41 PM

    I love, Love, LOVE the pictures!!

    I’m not sure I’d want to sit beside anyone else and go potty, let alone two someone elses!! ewwwwww

    Reply

Leave a comment