Am I really an Artist?

Am I really and Artist?

Well that is what they tell me now! Recently I  entered two photos in the 2nd annual Photography Invitational and both of them were chosen. I was so excited. I must have them matted and framed by May 6th. Then they will be on display from May 10th to May 28th. With an Artist  reception on May 28th. So since I must attend this reception I guess I really am an Artist. I am not sure at this time if the photos will be up for auction or if they will just be up for sale. There will also be a $200. award given to the best of show. I have a 2 in 20 chance at this. How wonderful and happy I would be if one of my photos won this award!

Here are the 2 photos I entered..

Song of Sunrise

Heaven’s Lace

So while I may be and Artist to some, I just hope I can uphold to my Artist statement…..

Living in Wyoming for more than thirty some years taught me to find beauty in all that I see around me. That in itself has inspired me to capture this beautiful state on film and share those images with family and friends. On the northern gateway to Yellowstone National Park there is an arch called the Roosevelt Arch and on the Arch is this quote “For the benefit and enjoyment of the people”. That is what I want to do! If I bring joy to others through my photographs, then I have accomplished an important goal in my life. Give me my camera and a chance to take a glimpse back into history, to see a bunch of wild flowers in the morning dew, or to witness a sunrise on a mountain top and you give me life.

Have a blessed day!!!

Barb

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sassybug on April 27, 2010 at 7:11 PM

    an artist is defined as:

    n.
    One, such as a painter, sculptor, or writer, who is able by virtue of imagination and talent or skill to create works of aesthetic value, especially in the fine arts.
    A person whose work shows exceptional creative ability or skill:
    One, such as an actor or singer, who works in the performing arts.
    One who is adept at an activity, especially one involving trickery or deceit: a con artist.

    So in my book by virtue of imagination and skill you create works of great aesthetic value so you are 100% an artist!

    Reply

  2. Posted by mrsgee on April 29, 2010 at 2:47 PM

    i concur. though, by sassy’s definition, i would be an artist too (and i’m not entirely sure that i deserve that title).

    Reply

Leave a comment